Squadron Spaatz Members

The General Carl A. Spaatz Award is the highest award in the Civil Air Patrol cadet program. The award honors General Carl A. Spaatz, who was the first Chief of Staff of the United States Air Force and the second National Commander of the Civil Air Patrol.

The Spaatz Award may be awarded to cadets who “successfully complete all phases of the CAP cadet program and the General Carl A. Spaatz Award Examination” consisting of a comprehensive leadership and aerospace education written examination, a graded essay, and a physical fitness test.

The Spaatz Award is arguably the most difficult honor to earn in the CAP cadet program. Cadets earning Spaatz Award are also promoted to Cadet Colonel, the highest grade obtainable in the cadet program. Upon reaching the age of 21, cadet colonels are eligible to transfer to the Civil Air Patrol senior program with an appointment to the grade of Captain. Cadet Colonels who voluntarily transfer to the senior program between the ages of 18 and 21 receive the grade of Senior Flight Officer.


2018  –  Dylan M. Hert (certificate #2215)

2017  –  Lydia R. Philip  (certificate #2091)

1996  –  Mark E. Hoferer (certificate #1288)

1992  –  Daniel Gwaltney (certificate #1098)

1990  –  Joseph P. Finken (certificate #997)